“Does the free market corrode moral character?”

January 2, 2009

This interesting question was asked by the Sir John Templeton Foundation and answered by thirteen people of different viewpoints.

Five answered no (per the titles of their essays found at the site), without qualification. Two answered yes without qualification. Two answered “it all depends.” The remaining four answered yes with some qualifications.

I have not read all yet. So far, I agree with Tyler Cowen’s (an author of one of my favorite blogs, Marginal Revolution). Of the essay’s I’ve read that I disagree with, Robert Reich’s provides the most interesting arguments. I would love to see what Cowen thinks of it. I will write more about it in the future.

Leave a Reply

