State Your Position in 10 Seconds

August 31, 2009

Twice over the past week I saw local TV news reporting from outside a health care town hall forum.  I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt that they grab random people from both sides of the issue, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they are a bit more selective.

So far, those chose to voice why they oppose government health care have not impressed me.  But seeing the coverage made me think, if asked to explain why I oppose government health care in 10 seconds, what would I say?  I think that would be something good to be ready to answer because you never know when you might get 10 seconds and trying to come up with the 10 second version of your view on the fly will probably be as disastrous as what I’ve seen so far.

So, here are a few options I’ve started to think about.

10 Second Version

I want the best health care to be available to everyone.   While well-intentioned, government health care isn’t the best answer.  The problems in today’s health care industry are caused by government.  Getting the government more involved will make it worse.

50 Second Version

[Show my iPod.]  It would take a wall in a room of my house to store as much music as this thing holds and makes available with a few finger taps.  I can also use it to check the weather, show photos of my latest vacation, plot a route to my next destination, e-mail friends, update facebook, download more music, videos, podcasts or books at Starbucks, or pass the time playing Tic-Tac-Toe and Checkers with my son.  I got all this for less than $300.  There are other versions of this product that can do pretty many of these things for around $100.

The government was not involved in making this product. Fifteen years ago while alphabetizing my CD collection in wood crates to make it easier for me to find the music I want to listen to, I would never imagine the iPod.  It does all this for me and I can carry it in my pocket.

I can imagine if the government were involved in its development, I would probably still be muddling through those wood crates.  Not bad by any means, but not a small percentage as good as this.

Leave a Reply

