Obvious Questions

October 1, 2009

Kudos to CBSNews.com for asking Michael Moore an obvious question:

Critics would say he’s [Moore] been very successful under a capitalist system.  How would you justify making a movie where you paint capitalism as evil?

But, demerits to CBSNews.com for not asking the obvious follow-up : “Huh?”

Well, capitalism did nothing for me, starting with my first film.

You know, I had to pretty much beg, borrow and steal.  The system is not set up to help somebody from the working class make a movie like this and get the truth out there.

n fact, in Fahrenheit 9/11 if you remember, capitalism, the Disney Corporation, tried to kill that film–tried to make it so that people couldn’t see it.  My book Stupid White Men–Harper Collins tried to kill that book so that people couldn’t see it. It’s only because I put the light of day on it and told people what was going on did people get the chance to see these things.

Look, you know, I mean, I make documentary films.  So, clearly, I’m not loaded in the way you described. But I do well, obviously because my films do well.

So, capitalism didn’t help him, but he “obviously does well because his films do well”?  Isn’t that capitalism?

Leave a Reply

