Minorities Have Conservative Values

November 12, 2009

I heard a very impressive man on a local radio show, Live with Darla Jaye, this evening.  Apostle Claver.  He claims that minorities live by conservative values, but don’t necessarily translate those values to the voting booth because they tend to vote with people in their ethnic group than for the candidates that best match up with their values.  He said to change the minds of minorities, Republicans and conservatives should focus on their values so the minorities can see that their values line up.

He actually said it much better than I what wrote, but I wanted to try to capture the essense. 

I run into similar views.  I have friends and family who live by conservative principles, but tend to vote Democrat for various reasons other than a lining up of values – they’ve always tended to vote that way, it’s cool, they’ve bought into the negative image of conservative parties and that the Democrats are for the little guys.  Sometimes they just like the guy or gal.  Likewise, I have conservative friends and relatives that are conservative more for the social benefits rather than a fundamental belief in the principles.

I recall the difficulty I had identifying all the flavors of political spectrum as I tried to figure out where I fell.  I’m still learning.  I’ve come a long way.  Unfortunately, I there are a lot of powers out there that would rather you not figure out where you fall on the political spectrum based on your values, rather take their word for it.  Believe what they want you to believe. 

Don’t take their word for it. Figue it out for yourself.  Focusing on values is very good advice.

Leave a Reply

